$5 Flat Rate USPS shipping + Free USPS Media Mail shipping for US orders over $50*


Your Cart is Empty

Icky Blossoms

Icky Blossoms



Deluxe MP3 includes Revisions remix EP


  • Vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes CD 

A brainchild born from the boredom of sitting still, guitarist and vocalist Derek Pressnall met Icky Blossoms vocalist Sarah Bohling and lead guitarist Nik Fackler in the vibrant Omaha art scene and invited them to play in his band Flowers Forever. Enchanted by endless nights in clubs and inspired with a desire to program dance music with instantaneous grooves and depth, Pressnall, an acclaimed visual artist, and Fackler, a spirit-award nominated filmmaker, combined with Bohling’s mesmerizing voice and formed Icky Blossoms.

Icky Blossoms combine bass-heavy electronic grooves, pop structure, and a rock & roll swagger to pioneer a sound on the audio vanguard: music that is simultaneously avant garde, catchy and danceable. Their music spans from the anthemic to the introverted, chronicling the twists and turns of the human condition.

The self-titled album, produced by Dave Sitek from TV On The Radio, features tracks that range from “Perfect Vision,” an experiment based around trunk thumping low end and chainsaw guitars, to “Babes,” which was lauded by Rolling Stone as a “girl-power dance anthem.” Other standout tracks include “Heat Lightning,” with its hypnotic arpeggiated synths, electro pulse and sirenesque vocals; the more raucous “Sex to the Devil,” featuring futuristic synth lines and esoteric lyrics; or “Temporary Freakout,” a classic pop song within an unconventional structure.

Release Date: July 17th, 2012

01. Heat Lightning
02. I Am
03. Sex to the Devil
04. Cycle
05. Deep in the Throes
06. Babes
07. Burn Rubber
08. Temporary Freakout
09. Stark Weather
10. Perfect Vision

News & Updates