Your Cart is Empty

Sebastien Grainger

Sebastien Grainger and the Mountains




  • 180g vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes download card 

Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains is a record that reflects the majesty its title suggests. Big chords, soaring choruses, and Sebastien's voice paint the portrait of a man still climbing. While lyrically and musically, Grainger's taken a sidestep away from the more aggressive approach of his past musical pursuits in favor of a more reflective and personal style, he still knows how to rock it when necessary. Pulling no punches, Sebastien's crafted a muscular and smart rock record that will surprise people expecting him to relive his past.

Best known for his contributions as singer and drummer for Canadian dance-punk duo Death From Above 1979, whose decadently catchy anthems took the world by storm with the release of their breakthrough record You're a Woman, I'm a Machine in 2004, Sebastien Grainger is soon to be even better known to the world as a singer and songwriter of sophisticated distinction via his new solo works. Fans of his prior music will likely be surprised by his new direction: delicately layered ruminations rich with energetic arrangements and deep melodic undercurrents. With his first full-length album Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains, he further expands upon the well-received melodic endeavors of his digital EP American Names.

Grainger will modestly tell you "every song is a problem, or an equation that I have to resolve," but it's obvious that the results are richer and more soulful rather than calculated and mathematical. Feeling like he is finally expressing himself on his own terms with the new record, Grainger is eager to hit the road once again and present these songs to the folks who've been curious about his next move after the dissolution of DFA 1979. Although he's a self-described "domestic person," Grainger's penchant for singing loudly, playing as hard as possible, and getting sweaty is real-as real as people's enthusiasm for him to keep doing so.

Release Date: October 21st, 2008

01. Love Can Be So Mean
02. Who Do We Care For?
03. By Cover of Night (Fire Fight)
04. I'm All Rage (Live '05)
05. I Hate My Friends
06. (Are There) Ways to Come Home?
07. Niagara
08. (I Am Like a) River
09. Love Is Not a Contest
10. American Names
11. Meet New Friends
12. Renegade Silence (feat. The Rhythm Method)

News & Updates