Your Cart is Empty

Adrianne Lenker




Also available in the Adrianne Lenker Bundle includingabysskiss,Hours Were the Birds and a-sides and b-sides


  • Lyric insert
  • Includes download card

Adrianne Lenker has been writing songs since she was 10 years old. Her "back story" has been well documented in various interviews and profiles for Big Thief over the last 3 years. Despite, or more likely because of the constant touring and studio work, the last few years have been some of the most prolific for Lenker as a writer. Songs pop out at soundcheck. They pop out on late night drives between cities. They pop out in green rooms, hotel stairwells, gardens, and kitchens around the world.

In the hands of Lenker songwriting is not an old dead craft. It is alive. It is vital. With little regard for standard album cycle practice or the idea of resting at all, Lenker set out to make a document. Songs can be slippery and following 2+ years on the road with Big Thief, Lenker felt a growing need to document this particular time in her life in an intimate, immediate way.

"I want to archive the songs in their original forms every few years," Lenker explained, ahead of the album’s release. "My first solo record I made was Hours Were the Birds. I had just turned 21 and moved to New York City where I was sleeping in a warehouse, working in a restaurant and photographing pigeons. Now five years later, another skin is being shed."

Following a two-week road trip through the southwestern United States, Lenker headed into the studio with longtime friend Luke Temple. Temple put on his loosely fitting, bright orange, 100% wool producer hat and for one week they made music. The songs chosen for this collection were the songs that felt the most alive in the room. These are not castaways or B-sides. Some of these songs had been alive for years while some were written just days before the session. Some appeared in different future forms - notably on Big Thief’s U.F.O.F LP - some did not. The thread that connects these songs is not something that can easily be put down in words. Intuition connects these songs. They are a record of a time.

With this collection, Lenker further illuminated to the listening public what those close to her already knew; here we have a songwriter of the highest order, following her voice and the greater Voices that pass through her with an unflinching openness and clarity of translation.

"With a great imagination for melody, Lenker conjures a world of mingled trauma and love." - Pitchfork

"Somewhere to conceal and heal yourself when the world outside feels a little daunting." - The Line of Best Fit

"...as complex as ever: delicate and strong, soothing yet uneasy, each listen revealing new emotional depth." - The Skinny

"Adrianne Lenker excels by tapping into the core of the human soul in the most tender, gentle and vivid way possible." - Paste

"A collection of poetic shards, bruised and tender and fierce...steeped in mystery and loss and a sense of esoteric humanity." - Various Small Flames

Release Date: October 5th, 2018.

1. terminal paradise
2. from
3. womb
4. out of your mind 
5. cradle
6. symbol
7. blue and red horses
8. abyss kiss
9. what can you say 
10. 10 miles

News & Updates