20% OFF* WITH CODE HOLIDAY2021 - Free USPS Media Mail shipping for US orders over $40 thru Nov 29


Your Cart is Empty

Tokyo Police Club

Elephant Shell




  • Vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes download card 

Tokyo Police Club was formed in 2005 by David Monks (vocals, bass), Josh Hook (guitar), Graham Wright (keyboards), and Greg Alsop (drums). Elephant Shell is the sound of these four early-20-somethings, now seasoned by hundreds of shows, from tiny clubs to the festival throngs at Coachella and Glastonbury, delivering on every bit of promise in their rapid-fire barrage of material to date.

The opening one-two of "Centennial" and "In A Cave" barely evaporates before "Graves" and "Juno" pack innumerable hooks and 'what-does-that-remind-me-of' glimmers into meager 2-minute-and-change frameworks, while first single "Tessellate" and "Sixties Remake" encapsulate everything great about the manic TPC live experience: soaring guitar signatures and keyboard figures, driving backbeats and irresistible sing-alongs abound. Elsewhere, "The Harrowing Adventures Of..." and the down-tempo standout "Listen To The Math" find our young protagonists ably adapting their energy into more subdued structures before the rousing coda of "The Baskervilles" brings the record to an all-too-early halt.

CD includes bonus disc with remixes.

Release Date: April 22nd, 2008


01. Centennial
02. In a Cave
03. Graves
04. Juno
05. Tessellate
06. Sixties Remake
07. The Harrowing Adventures of…
08. Nursery Academy
09. Your English Is Good
10. Listen to the Math
11. The Baskervilles

01. Centennial (remix by Dntel)
02. Tessellate (remix by Tom Campesinos!)
03. Nursery Academy (remix by Flowers Forever)
04. Listen to the Math (remix by The Good Life)
05. Tessellate (remix by Field Music)

News & Updates