$5 Flat Rate USPS shipping + Free USPS Media Mail shipping for US orders over $50*


Your Cart is Empty

The Mynabirds

What We Lose in the Fire We Gain in the Flood




  • Vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes download card

Following the demise of Georgie James, Laura Burhenn (half of the former DC duo) gathered her favorite books, records, and people around her and wrote what would become the first album from her new band. Recorded in the rugged hills of Oregon in the summer of 2009 with singer-songwriter/producer Richard Swift at the helm, What We Lose In The Fire We Gain In The Flood tells the story of loss and recovery, the music nodding to gospel and garage, the lyrics following a Zen trajectory.

“I wanted to make a record that felt like Neil Young doing Motown,” Laura says, “something simple and strong, old and new at once.” The discovery of the near mythical 60’s R&B group, The Mynah Birds, featuring none other than Neil Young (and Rick James among others), seemed all too serendipitous. Thus, The Mynabirds found their namesake. While we may never fully know what it sounded like when Rick James and Neil Young came together, The Mynabirds certainly summon that spirit, making a sound all their own, with echoes of Dusty Springfield and Bobbie Gentry bleeding through the tape.

Release Date: April 27th, 2010

01. What We Gained in the Fire
02. Let the Record Go
03. Numbers Don't Lie
04. Give It Time
05. Ways of Looking
06. LA Rain
07. Wash It Out
08. We Made a Mountain
09. Right Place
10. Good Heart

News & Updates