$5 Flat Rate USPS shipping + Free USPS Media Mail shipping for US orders over $50*


Your Cart is Empty

The Mynabirds





  • Vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes CD
  • Includes 24"x24" lyric insert

In place of the Zen meditations found on The Mynabirds’ first album,GENERALS is filled with armies of stomps and claps, sweeping full spectrum orchestrations, and moments that range from intensely personal pleas to shout-out-loud protests with teeth.

GENERALS is both a protest record and concept album. It’s fueled by a full decade of Burhenn’s political frustration and aimed at finding a revolutionary yet pacifist way in a world where, these days, it seems warring comes quick. Lyrically,GENERALS sings the voice of the collective frustration, then moves beyond that. 

The album’s name comes from a Richard Avedon photo entitled “Generals of the Daughters of the American Revolution.” The lineage of women that have stood up to injustice for well over a hundred years, women like Sojourner Truth, Rosa Parks, Gloria Steinem, Naomi Wolf, they get their hands dirty. And Burhenn wanted to pay tribute to that.

Release Date: May 29th, 2012

01. Karma Debt
02. Wolf Mother
03. Generals
04. Radiator Sister
05. Disaster
06. Mightier than the Sword
07. Body of Work
08. Disarm
09. Buffalo Flower
10. Greatest Revenge


News & Updates