Your Cart is Empty


Land of Talk

Indistinct Conversations



** Due to the circumstances surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, the release of Land of Talk’s Indistinct Conversations has been changed to July 31st.**

This is a pre-order item. All items alongside a physical pre-order will ship together to arrive on or before the release date. You will receive an instant download of the tracks "Diaphanous," "Weight of That Weekend," "Compelled" and "Footnotes" upon purchase. Full album download will be available on release date.

All 11 songs on Indistinct Conversations were written by Elizabeth Powell (vocals/guitar/keys), and share the hallmarks of the Land of Talk sound: her silvery vocals; masterful, at times cacophonous guitar playing; and a stream-of-conscious lyricism—here perhaps at her most emotionally vulnerable and honest. Powell produced and arranged the tracks together with her bandmates Mark “Bucky” Wheaton (drums/keys) and Christopher McCarron (bass), and the trio recorded the album in a studio built by McCarron in Wheaton’s apartment basement.

Indistinct Conversations follows 2017’s acclaimed Life After Youth—at the time Land of Talk’s first album in seven years. The release saw praise from Pitchfork, Paste, The AV Club, and NPR Music, among others, with its singles earning additional highlights from The FADER, NPR Music’s All Songs Considered, New York Magazine’s Vulture, Stereogum, Brooklyn Vegan, Bandcamp, WXPN, and more.

    Saddle Creek Store Exclusive (Limited edition of 250) SOLD OUT

    • 3 color vinyl pressed at GZ
    • Gatefold jacket
    • Includes digital download

    Standard LP:

    • Black vinyl pressed at GZ
    • Gatefold jacket
    • Includes download card

    Indie Exclusive red vinyl (Limited edition of 500) available at participating independent record stores on release date.

    Release Date: July 31st, 2020

    1. Diaphanous
    2. Look to You (Intro)
    3. Look to You
    4. Weight of That Weekend
    5. Love in 2 Stages
    6. Compelled
    7. Footnotes
    8. A/B Futures
    9. Festivals
    10. Now You Want to Live in the Light
    11. Indistinct Conversations

    Important Information: This item is not available to residents of Canada. Please be advised that if you live in Canada, your order will be cancelled. Canadian residents should order from Dine Alone Records.

    News & Updates