Free U.S. shipping on all orders!

Your Cart is Empty


Read Music / Speak Spanish




  • 180g vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes download card 

Desaparecidos is a 5-piece rock band fronted by Bright Eyes singer/songwriter Conor Oberst (vocals, guitar) and featuring Denver Dalley (guitar), Landon Hedges (bass, vocals), Ian McElroy (keyboards), and Matt Baum (drums). Matt and Ian are familiar to many of you from the various incarnations of Bright Eyes' touring band of which they played in.

Oberst may be better known for his confessional songwriting and storytelling, but Desaparecidos is nothing of the sort. Indeed, similar vocal melodies and song structure are present, but the guitars are loud and distorted, the bass is pounding, and the drums and keyboards round out this hi-energy, pop-rock band without the lyrical focus of personal relationships. Oberst screams out observational commentary about urban development, the sacrifice of human value for the dollar bill, and the new American Dream.

Setting out to capture the rawness of the band, the record was recorded over one week at Presto! Recording Studio in Lincoln with producer Mike Mogis. Bright Eyes fans will love it, but it'll also appeal to anyone who's ever dug At The Drive In, The Pixies, Weezer, Dinosaur Jr., etc.

Release Date: February 11, 2002

01. Man and Wife, the Former (Financial Planning)
02. Mañana
03. Greater Omaha
04. Man and Wife, the Latter (Damaged Goods)
05. Mall of America
06. The Happiest Place on Earth
07. Survival of the Fittest / It's a Jungle Out There
08. $$$$
09. Hole in One
News & Updates

Get the latest on sales, new releases and more…