$4 Flat Rate USPS shipping. Free USPS Media Mail shipping for US orders over $50


Your Cart is Empty

Georgie James





  • 180g vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Includes download card 

Who is Georgie James? Add the Y of multi-instrumentalist John Davis (drummer of DC's defunct Q And Not U), the X of singer-songwriter Laura Burhenn, and their combined knack for evocative production, inventive songwriting, and multi-part harmonies, and you're almost there. Mix in the duo's passion for 60s & 70s pop music including The Kinks, Richard & Linda Thompson, The Jam, Simon & Garfunkel, and Some Shake Some Action-era Flamin' Groovies, and you've got it. While Georgie James may at first seem like a strange amalgam, everything fits together perfectly on their Saddle Creek debut, Places.

After a U.S. tour with Camera Obscura and some regional touring on their own, Georgie James entered Arlington, VA's Silver Sonya Studio in late summer 2006 to record its debut full-length with the production help of Beauty Pill's Chad Clark and Aloha's T.J. Lipple. Guest musicians included Andrew Black (The Explosion), Matthew Gengler and Tony Cavallario (both of Aloha).

Release Date: September 25th, 2007

01. Look Me Up
02. Cake Parade
03. Need Your Needs
04. Long Week
05. More Lights
06. Henry and Hanzy
07. Comfortable Headphones
08. Hard Feelings
09. Places
10. Cheap Champagne
11. You Can Have It
12. Only 'Cause You're Young

News & Updates