Your Cart is Empty

Land of Talk

Applause Cheer Boo Hiss: The Definitive Edition




  • Embossed gatefold jacket
  • Vinyl pressed at GZ
  • Includes download card with 5 digital bonus tracks
  • All preorders ship with Land of Talk Sticker Sheet!

Limited Edition 2xLP
- Saddle Creek and One Little Independent Exclusive
- Blue and pink color-in-color vinyl
- Limited edition of 500 (Limit 2 per customer)

Ecomix 2xLP
- Teal and pink ecomix* vinyl (Limit 2 per customer)
*Ecomix LPs are made from recycled vinyl scraps, meaning each copy will look unique!

Fans outside of the US and Canada can purchase this record from One Little Independent.

Land of Talk’s music can be difficult to describe due to the fact that it has evolved so much over the past 18 years. And with all its gorgeous growth and permutations, there’s something poignant and evergreen about Elizabeth Powell’s first release as Land of Talk, Applause Cheer Boo Hiss. Originally released in 2006, their debut EP is comprised of seven angular, guitar-driven rock songs that take sonic cues from artists ranging from post-hardcore acts like Fugazi to spacey pop bands like Broadcast, creating a collection that continues to gather urgency nearly two decades later.

Applause Cheer Boo Hiss: The Definitive Edition is a collector’s dream, with bonus music spread out across two LPs housed in a gorgeous gatefold jacket that features new and updated artwork. The first LP features a remastered and expanded 10-song version of the original EP, along with five additional downloadable bonus tracks of live material and remixes. The second LP features a remastered version of L'Aventure Acoustique,the limited and adored 10-track release featuring acoustic versions of all seven original Applause Cheer Boo Hiss tracks, as well as acoustic versions of “Young Bridge,” the future Land of Talk track “Some Are Lakes,” and a cover of Wintersleep’s “Weighty Ghost”all on vinyl for the first time.

From the fuzzed-out melodicism of “Summer Special” to the stripped-down guitar grandeur of “Magnetic Hill,” Powell’s voice shimmers and syncopates in unexpected ways, and already sounds fully formed. “I feel like I’m never going to be fully satisfied with anything I do, but having said that, I’m super proud of the whole EP. If that’s my legacy, I’m good,” Powell explains. “[Fugazi’s] ‘Smallpox Champion’ is a song that definitely inspired the outro to ‘Speak to Me Bones,’ which is a song that I would love to play live again, especially because I wrote it long before MeToo, and since the MeToo movement a lot of people have been naming their abusers, and the abuse of powers in the music industry.” The truth is that Land of Talk has always been ahead of their time. From the gentle guitar-driven experimentation of 2010’s Cloak and Cipher,to the dreamy pop of Life After Youth and tasteful experimentation of 2020’s Indistinct Conversations, Powell has never followed trends. And in the process, they’ve forged a career that’s as interesting as it is enigmatic.

Granted, the songs on Applause Cheer Boo Hissdidn’t come together seamlessly. Powell admits they didn’t think ahead to the logistics of writing almost every song in a different tuning, or about adding additional songs so it could be released as a full-length album. But that lack of concern about conforming to musical and logistical conventions is part of what makes this collection so integral to Land of Talk’s success. Instead of the standard verse/chorus/verse, the lyrics read more like short blasts of poetry about relationships that are specific enough for the listener to identify with, and ambiguous enough for them to add their own meaning. “My head won’t stop what happens next and my heart closes it up,” Powell sings on “All My Friends,” and that emotional tension is what lies at the core of Applause Cheer Boo Hiss, as well as Land of Talk’s subsequent output. In fact, it almost sounds like Powell is addressing themself when they sing “loving is so easy, figure it out” before launching into a perfectly imperfect guitar solo.

“I’m super proud looking back on how free I was creatively during this period,” Powell says of Applause Cheer Boo Hiss. In fact, the EP’s title is both a celebration and a provocation, a dichotomy that lies at the core of Powell’s music and keeps them pushing forward–mostly recently in the form of 2023’s Performances.It’s a musical journey that is still incomplete and evolving, but these songs are a glimpse into the formative years that irrevocably shaped what Land of Talk would become.

Also on July 12th, a compilation of Land of Talk’s EPs will be available together on vinyl for the first time. The EPs is Land of Talk's 2009 EP Fun and Laughter and the 2021 EP Calming Night Partner.

Release Date: July 12th, 2024
Applause Cheer Boo Hiss Original Release Date: April 4th, 2006

Disc 1
1. Speak To Me Bones
2. Sea Foam
3. Summer Special
4. Breaxxbaxx
5. Magnetic Hill
6. All My Friends
7. Street Wheels
8. Young Bridge
9. Two Ships
10. Dark Nature Places

Disc 2
1. Speak To Me Bones (Acoustic)
2. Sea Foam (Acoustic)
3. Summer Special (Acoustic)
4. Breaxxbaxx (Acoustic)
5. Magnetic Hill (Acoustic)
6. All My Friends (Acoustic)
7. Street Wheels (Acoustic)
8. Young Bridge (Acoustic)
9. Some Are Lakes (Acoustic)
10. Weighty Ghost (Acoustic)

Disc 3 (Digital Only)
1. Young Bridge (P-Dub Radio Mix)
2. Sea Foam (Live at Lee's Palace)
3. Speak to Me Bones (P-Dub Radio Mix)
4. It's OK (Live at XM Radio)
5. The Man Who Breaks Things (Lexxx Radio Mix)

News & Updates