Free U.S. shipping on all orders!

Your Cart is Empty

Bright Eyes

Cassadaga (Remastered)




  • Remastered vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Tip-on gatefold jacket 
  • Includes download card 

Remastered by Bob Ludwig

“Cassadaga delivers on the wildly unlikely promise that very young, very gifted artists can grow up without losing their balance.” - Boston Globe

“Cassadaga is fulsome, epic, and swirling, by far oberst's most sophisticated, seamless effort.” - Uncut

“A collection of sounds, moods and shadowy stories that, sidebyside feel perfectly at home.” - Paste

If Wide Awake... was "the New York City album", then Cassadaga is "the America album", in which Oberst diaries his travels around the country and articulates his sense of history in the landscape. Should you have looked, you'd have found the band tucked away in various studios around the country. Recording for the first time outside of the Lincoln, NE studio belonging to Mogis, the Bright Eyes cast of players were busy in studios in Portland, OR, New York City, Chicago and Los Angeles.

Cassadaga itself, a community for psychics in central Florida, crops up throughout the album, known as a place visited in order to "commune with the dead". The wandering spirit is crystalized in "I Must Belong Somewhere" a song which was already a staple of live shows by the end of the 2005. "Hot Knives" is particularly spirited, bringing to mind the true energy of a Bright Eyes show. Likewise, "Soul Singer In A Session Band" - a rousing paean to an oxymoronic profession - enlists all of the elements which make the Bright Eyes live band such a euphoric experience. "Make A Plan To Plan To Love Me" is Bright Eyes at their most playful; a straight-up love song, replete with girl group vocals and Burt Bacharach strings. Oberst, the fumbling guitarist whose impassioned prose tumbles out under stark stage spotlights, is still recognizable in every track, but the songs are rich with elaborate production, cinema-sized orchestration and, at times, sprawling, almost psychedelic, atmospherics.

The line up of Bright Eyes players includes Andy Lemaster (Now It's Overhead), Ben Kweller, Gillian Welch, David Rawlings, Janet Weiss (Sleater Kinney), Jason Boesel (Rilo Kiley), John McEntire (Tortoise), M.Ward, Maria Taylor and Rachael Yamagata.

Release Date: November 11th, 2016

01. Clairaudients (Kill or Be Killed) 
02. Four Winds 
03. If the Brakeman Turns My Way 
04. Hot Knives 
05. Make a Plan to Love Me 
06. Soul Singer in a Session Band 
07. Classic Cars 
08. Middleman 
09. Cleanse Song 
10. No One Would Riot for Less 
11. Coat Check Dream Song 
12. I Must Belong Somewhere 
13. Lime Tree

News & Updates

Get the latest on sales, new releases and more…