What the Toll Tells

11/03/2005 | | | Feature
Two Gallants have come along way from their humble Bay Area beginnings. They started out playing impromptu shows outside BART stations near their hometown of San Francisco, and now they've recorded their second full-length, their first for Omaha's famed Saddle Creek label, at John Vanderslice's Tiny Telephone studio. According to a post on the band's website today, the Two Gallants' Saddle Creek debut will be called What the Toll Tells and is set for a February 21 U.S. release. The first single from the album, "Las Cruces Jail," will be released on December 6. Two Gallants performed at the Spin-sponsored Saddle Creek showcase at the CMJ festival in September with labelmates Conor Oberst, Maria Taylor, Cursive, and Orenda Fink, and they're about to embark on a European tour with the Decemberists.

What the Toll Tells track listing:

1. "Las Cruces Jail"
2. "Steady Rollin'"
3. "Some Slender Rest"
4. "Long Summer Day"
5. "The Prodigal Son"
6. "Threnody In Minor B"
7. "16th St. Dozens"
8. "Age of Assassins"
9. "Waves of Grain"
What the Toll Tells

What the Toll Tells

LP / CD / MP3