Saddle Creek | Baby Walrus | Baby Walrus

Baby Walrus

Baby Walrus

CD (w/ MP3) SPY-003-2 (2/5/2008) $11.00 add to cart
LP (w/ MP3) SPY-003-1 (2/5/2008) $11.00 add to cart
320 Kbps MP3 SPY-003-3 (2/5/2008) $9.00 add to cart

Baby Walrus is jingle bells, guitars, vegetables, books, trumpets, trombones, flutes, shakers, bongos, hats, banjos, cabinets, drills, screwdrivers, mallets, cymbals, singing, clapping, stomping, cats, dogs, noise. Baby Walrus is sprawling and discordant and messy and confusing. Baby Walrus is also brilliant.

Baby Walrus's self titled album is the work of Art in Manila, Flowers Forever collaborator Chris Senseney on guitar, keyboards and vocals and Spaceage Polymers members John P. Voris on percussion and Dylan Strimple on guitar and keyboards.

The diverse debut album growls and rambles like Captain Beefheart in "Jump Off a Cliff," then croons with dark smoothness like Nick Cave in "Some Dawns," is collected and carnival and diner and lounge like Tom Waits in "Bed Metal," and is full of Jerry Lee Lewis piano crushing, hair tossing abandon in "What Plastic Box." As intentionally murky and amateurish as it is sophisticated, Baby Walrus is a sound so totally original it is something you only expect from the bleak indie Midwest.

Track List:
1. Ghostish
2. Salty Little Fish
3. Nobody's Got A Beautiful Heart
4. Airplane Shuttle Blues
5. Cold Cold Stone Pt 1
6. Cold Cold Stone Pt 2
7. Some Dawns No Bird Will Sing
8. Grape Jelly's Origins
9. Red Horses
10. Bad Metal
11. Flipless in What Plastic Box
12. Riot Police
13. Fishing for Worms
14. January Baseball
15. Brain Laxative
16. Planted in Cement
17. Harald
18. A Canary in a Brown Mess