Saddle Creek | Bright Eyes | Reviews


I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning

10/22/2004 | | | Feature
Bright Eyes, who recently performed on the same bill as R.E.M., John Fogerty, and Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band on the Vote For Change tour, will release two new albums in January 2005.

Frontman Conor Oberst and his ever-changing band will release two distinct discs on January 25, 2005. I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning and Digital Ash in a Digital Urn were recorded back to back in New York City.

I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning is a country-tinged collection of acoustic tracks, and includes guest vocals from Emmylou Harris and My Morning Jacket's Jim James. Digital Ash in a Digital Urn is a full-band record which includes a cameo from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Nick Zinner.

Others joining Oberst on the discs include contributions from Jesse Harris, Rilo Kiley's Jason Boesel, Tilly and the Wall's Nick White, Cursive's Matt Maginn, The Faint's Clark Beachle, Neva Dinova's Jake Bellows, and The Postal Service's Jimmy Tamborello.

The track listing for I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning follows:

"At The Bottom Of Everything"
"We Are Nowhere And It's Now"
"Old Soul Song (For The New World Order) "
"Train Under Water"
"First Day of My Life"
"Another Travelin' Song"
"Landlocked Blues"
"Poison Oak"
"Road To Joy"

The track listing for Digital Ash In a Digital Urn follows:
"Time Code"
"Gold Mine Gutted"
"Arc of Time (Time Code"
"Down In A Rabbit Hole"
"Take It Easy (Love Nothing"
"Hit The Switch"
"I Believe In Symmetry"
"Devil In The Details"
"Ship In A Bottle"
"Light Pollution"
"Theme From Pinata"


All »

Cassadaga (Remastered)

Cassadaga (Remastered)

LP / CD / Cassette / MP3